Made up of almost only miniatures (26 pieces 25 of which last for fewer than 4 minutes), this program spreads as a large starry sky. De l’obscurité (by the young French composer Benjamin Attahir) emerge the twelve constellations of the Zodiac set to music by Karlheinz Stockhausen in the 70s. This brilliant melody cycle is a very special and outstanding work by the composer; it is performed in a quartet version written by Kevin Juillerat for the ensemble in 2013.
Between those two works, thirteen other little stars are integrated: the Spots by the American composer Frederic Rzewski, small one-minute pieces in a minimalist and bright style.

Premiere: 14.02.2015 – Cinema Sil Plaz, Glion/Ilanz (CH)

Benjamin Attahir (*1989) – De l’obscurité II (2012, 7’)
for solo harp

Frederic Rzewski (*1938) – Spots (1986, 13’)
13 one-minute pieces for any four instruments

Karlheinz Stockhausen (1928-2007) – Tierkreis, 12 Melodies of the Star Signs (1974/75, 35’)
quartet version by Kevin Juillerat (2013)